Fuels, Energy, and Thermal Systems Laboratory - News

Congratulations FETS Lab Achievers!

The FETS lab is proud of its latest achievers:

Joseph “J4” Yap (MS EgyE student) for winning the Best Energy R&D Track Poster during the 4th ERDT Congress held last July 20, 2015 at the SMX Convention Center.  J4 bested 15 other posters submitted by MS/PhD students in the Energy R&D Track.  The title of his poster was “Photocatalytic Hydrogen  Production of Rh-doped Strontium Titanate Thin-Film from Complex Precursor”

Estelle Diane Jose, Ernest Nathan Nogales, and Ann Elizabeth (Elise) Rollon for having made it as one of the 6 finalists in the 2015 Undergraduate Project Competition of the College of Engineering with their research work entitled  “Photocatalytic hydrogen production from seawater using CdxZn1-xS”

The successful completion of the following other undergraduate research projects:

Modeling of Radiation Distribution in a Compound Parabolic Collector (CPC)-based TiO2 Slurry by Eira Baccay, Marion Coronel and Raf Madrigal under Prof. Hya Tambago.

Simulations on the Effect of Base Angles and Surface Roughness on the Hydrodynamics and Heat Transfer with Trapezoidal Microchannels by Don Fernando, Aaron Cruz and Matthew Chanco under Prof. Kristian July Yap.

Rice-Straw-Derived Biopolyols for rigid polyurethane foam production by Alfrie Consebido, Mesha Lynne Ybarola, Hyae Cinth Ochotorena under Prof. Dr. Angie Escoto.

Development of Mozzarella Cheese from Philippine Buffalo Milk by Michael Deang, Almira de Villa and Grenny Grenas under Dr. Rizalinda de Leon.

All FETS lab members who graduated at the end of the 2nd Semester 2014-15: Ma. Eira Clara Baccay, Manuel Matthew Chanco, Alfrie Carlo Consebido, Marion Ivy Coronel (cum laude), King Aaron Cruz (cum laude), Almira de Villa (magna cum laude), Michael Sean Deang (cum laude), Don Lawrence Fernando (magna cum laude), Wilbert James Futalan (cum laude), Eloisa Janelle “Grenny” Grenas (cum laude), Estelle Diane Jose (magna cum laude), Rafael Madrigal (cum laude), Rafael Montesa, Ernest Nathan Nogales (summa cum laude), Hyae Cinth Ochotorena, Ann Elizabeth Rollon (cum laude).

Congratulations to our MS Graduates and soon-to-be-graduates:

Charlimagne Montealegre  graduated with an MS ChE at the end of the 2nd Semester after successfully defending his thesis on the effect of Blumea balsamifera extract on the crystallization of calcium oxalate.

Leandro (Sir Andy) de Castro successfully defended his thesis entitled “Performance Evaluation of TEC-Cooled Oscillating Het Pipe Charged with Degassed Deionized Water.”

Abern Tamisin  successfully defended his thesis entitled “Thermal Performance Evaluation of the Oscillating Heat Pipe using Carbon Nanotube-HDMIM[Br] Nanofluid.”